top of page

Legislation Nebraska

Nebraska Counties
Nebraska Judicial Circuits

State bills will go through the State Senate and the State House. Bills going through the Senate begin with S.  Bills going through the House begin with HR. There is no set order of the two branches it must go through first or second.  If it goes first through the Senate it will then go through the House.  If it first goes through the House it will then go through the Senate.  A bill must pass through both branches before it will be considered law. State bills fo to the govenor while national bills go to the president.

Nebraska Governor Pete Ricketts

Nebraska Lieutenant Governor Mike Foley


Nebraska Attorney General Doug Peterson


U.S. Senators representing Nebraska should not be confused with Nebraska State Senators.  Each state has two US Senators, and each state's two make up the 100 U.S. Senators.  However, there are far more than 100 total senators.


Nebraska         US Senator     Benjamin E. Sasse

Nebraska         US Senator     Deb Fischer


Nebraska U.S. House Representatives should not be confused with Nebraska State House Representatives. Missouri has 8 U.S. House Representatives.


Nebraska Senate

Nebraska State Senators should not be confused with Nebraska US Senators. Nebraska has 49 State Senators.

Nebraska House

Nebraska is unique in that it has a Unicameral system which means it has Senators but no House.

bottom of page